Originally the land was within the barony of Colinton and
named' Brounysfelde' or Brown's fields after an early land owner.
To the south was the former Greehhill estate which bordered the
old Burgh Muir. Greenhill estate included Bruntsfield Manor, or
Bruntsfield House, a mansion house which was home to a succession
of land owners especially the Lauders of Haltoun who occupied the
property for 226 years. In 1603 Sir Alexander Lauder sold Bruntsfield
House to a John Fairlie of Braid who carried out extensive work
on the building. In the reign of Mary Queen of Scots it was still
in the posession of his grandson William Fairlie of Brounsfield.
In 1695 records show it was sold to George Warrender of Lochend,
the then Ballie and later Lord Provest of Edinburgh. The building
remained in his family until the 1900 by which time much of of
the estate was laid out for temements. Many of the tenements in
Bruntsfield today date from the mid 17th Century. Bruntsfield House
is now a listed building in the grounds of James Gillespie School.
Bruntsfield boasts Scotland's oldest golf course, 'The Links'
is said to be the first place golf was ever played and
is still played there today.
The area is the only remaining part of
the original Burgh Muir. Essentially an extension of the
Meadows, which was once a loch, but the Links was always
dry land. Even today much of the Links is very uneven ground
with lots of undulating mounds and hollows, ideal for golf
but it is also rumoured that the links served a as a burial
ground for Edinburgh's plague victims.